Education Authority

Education Authority

Purdys Lane
United Kingdom

Contact Details

Education Authority

Opening Hours

Most regional offices operate opening hours from 9:00 to 5:30

The Education Authority (EA) was established under the Education Act Northern Ireland 2014 and became operational on 01 April 2015. It is a non-departmental body sponsored by the Department of Education and replaces the five Education and Library Boards.

The Education Authority (EA) is responsible for ensuring that efficient and effective primary and secondary education services are available to meet the needs of children and young people, and support for the provision of efficient and effective youth services. These services were previously delivered by the five Education and Library Boards:

  • Belfast Education and Library Board
  • North Eastern Education and Library Board
  • South Eastern Education and Library Board
  • Southern Education and Library Board
  • Western Education and Library Board

The EA employs over 39,000 people across Northern Ireland in a wide variety of roles. This includes teachers in controlled schools, school-based support staff and staff in administrative headquarters.

Education Authority's Content

Pupils from Castle Gardens Primary School, Newtownards help to launch a new campaign to encourage applications to the role of school governors across Northern Ireland.

Education Authority

A new campaign has been launched today to encourage applications to the role of school governors.
Education Authority launches ‘Smart School Transport’ Competition

Education Authority

The Education Authority (EA) has launched a new ‘Smart School Transport’ competition under the Small Business Research Initiative (SBRI) scheme.

More Information

Type of Organisation

Public Sector


  • Martin Magee
  • Victoria Poole
  • Education Authority