Making Every Contact Count

Supporting Better Health Literacy – a free training workshop for anyone working in a primary care health & wellbeing setting

Health literacy is about patients and citizens having the knowledge, skills, understanding and confidence they need to be able to use health and care information and services.

Integrated Care Partnerships are offering free Health Literacy training workshops across Northern Ireland delivered by Belfast Healthy Cities and the Community Development & Health Network.

If you work within a GP practice or a community pharmacy, dental surgery or an ophthalmic practitioners or if you work to promote health and wellbeing within the community and voluntary sector or through a local council initiative then this training is open to you.

People with limited health literacy can encounter problems; accessing, understanding and appraising health information and experience poorer health outcomes.  Those working in health settings can lessen the impact of low health literacy but might not fully understand the problem and may lack the necessary skills.

The workshops aim to help you learn; what health literacy is, to better understand the impact of low health literacy, and to apply your learning to help you to be more effective in your work with patients, carers, service users, citizens and communities.  

Sessions will be held in each of the ICP areas on the following dates:

Belfast ICP

Tuesday 9 April  – Beechlawn Hotel

Monday 29 April  –Riddell Hall, Queen’s University

Tuesday 14 May  –Stormont Hotel

Wednesday 22 May –NICVA


Southern ICP

Thursday 21 March  – Newry Conference & Banqueting Centre, Newry

Tuesday 2 April – Armagh City Hotel, Armagh

 

South Eastern

Thursday 28 March - Resurgam 3D Youth Centre, Lisburn BT28 1NY

Thursday 4 April - Sketrick House, Newtownards BT23 4YH

Thursday 11 April -  St Patricks Centre, Downpatrick, BT30 6LZ

Tuesday 16 April -  Signal Centre, Bangor BT19 7P

 

Northern

Tuesday 12 March - The Braid, Ballymena Town Hall, Ballymena BT43 5EJ

Thursday 18 April - Mossley Mill, Newtownabbey BT36 5QA

Wednesday 15 May  - Portballintrae Village Hall, Bushmills BT57 8US

Tuesday 21 May  - Mid Ulster Council HQ, Magherafelt BT45 6E

 

Western

Wednesday 27 March - North West Enterprise Centre, Derry/Londonderry

Wednesday 17 April - Tara Centre, Omagh


Places are limited so early booking is advised.

For further information and details on how to register please email [email protected]

 

Last updated 2 weeks 1 day ago by Elaine Fitzsimons